S.M.A.R.T. Goals

1

One of the greatest pieces of advice I ever received when setting goals was to ensure that they were S.M.A.R.T. goals. For me, this was incredibly good advice because my personality (Melancholy + Choleric, see the book “Wired That Way“) can sometimes result in me setting too many goals, making too many checklists, and never feel like I’m getting things accomplished.

I operate best off of spreadsheets, checklists, goal settings, etc. BUT when you are also the kind of person that strives to do everything perfectly… goal setting can actually bring your self esteem down if you don’t accomplish your goals.

So I began to set goals that were specific, simple to measure progress, attainable but not EASY, relevant to my overall/long term goal, and timely to ensure I was making progress but not dragging out the process. This how allowed for me to groom my self esteem and even allow for me to have little victories over time because I’m able to actually hit these goals.

Examples of some goals that I’ve set for myself are:

  • Fitness (Weight Loss or Weight Training)
  • Business Goals
  • Job Goals (Hitting certain bonuses/incentives)
  • House Chores/Projects

Hopefully, you find this as helpful as I did when my mentor taught me about setting S.M.A.R.T. goals for myself!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

